Make sure that you are logged into the site. If you are logged in, your
name will appear at the top of the page on the right side, next to the
If you are logged in and you can edit the page, there will be a checkbox
near the bottom of the content area (middle section) on the right side
labeled ‘Show editing inputs’.
Checking the ‘Show editing inputs’ will activate the editing tools.
All of the wiki-style pages follow the same layout.
Each page has an
optional series of introductory paragraphs, followed by an optional
series of sections, followed by an optional series of concluding
Each section has a label, followed by an optional series of introductory
paragraphs, followed by an optional series of subsections, followed by
an optional series of concluding paragraphs.
Each subsection has a label followed by an optional series of paragraphs.
For an empty page, the only options available are for a page-level
introductory paragraph, a section title, and a page-level concluding
As paragraphs are added, new options are available for adding paragraphs
before, between, and after existing paragraphs in that section. Existing
paragraphs will have be preceded by ‘Edit’
Once any content has been added, the message “Content for this page
will be coming soon.” is no longer shown.
To enter a section label, just type in the section textbox. Once text has
been entered, ‘Save’ and ‘Cancel’ buttons will
appear to the right of the textbox. Click on the ‘Save’ button
to create a new section, or click on the ‘Cancel’ button to
remove the text you’ve entered.
Once a section label has been saved, more editing options are available.
There are textboxes for new sections before, between, and after the
existing sections. Each section will have textboxes for entering an
introductory paragraph, a subsection label, and a concluding paragraph.
Existing section labels will be preceded by ‘Edit’
Adding subsection labels works the same as adding section labels. Adding
paragraphs within a section is the same as adding them to the page. As
you add paragraphs to a particular area, new textboxes will allow you to
enter paragraphs before, between, and after existing paragraphs within
the same area.
To help you keep track of the different sections, each section (including
the page introductory paragraphs ‘section’ and the page
concluding paragraph ‘section’, as well as any new sections
that haven’t been added yet) is outlined with a solid black
line. Each subsection (including new subsections that haven’t been
added yet) is outlined with a dashed black line.
Once content has been added within a section, the ‘delete’
button for that section label becomes disabled or grayed out .
This indicates that the section label cannot be deleted until all of the
subsections and paragraphs within that section have been deleted.
Similarly, once content has been added within a subsection, the ‘delete’
button for that subsection label becomes disabled or grayed out .
This indicates that the subsection label cannot be deleted until all of the
paragraphs within that subsection have been deleted.
Once a sufficient number of sections and/or subsections has been added,
the software will automatically generate a Table of Contents immediately
after the page introductory paragraphs. This Table of Contents will list
the labels of each section in order, and list each subsection for a given
section after the appropriate section label. Each label is a clickable
link that scrolls the page to that particular section or subsection. This
Table of Contents is not editable.
Paragraphs often require more complex editing than just simple text, as
the section and subsection labels use. To accomodate that, a third-party
click on a paragraph textbox or click the ‘Edit’ button
for an existing paragraph, the textbox is replaced by a mini-editor with
many options available for formatting the paragraph text or adding items
like hyperlinks, images, emojis, or special characters.
It is important to note here that you can only insert pictures that are
already uploaded to the World Wide Web somewhere. This tool does not
allow you to upload pictures. However, you can override the dimensions
of the picture and add a description of the picture.
Beneath the editor are the same ‘Save’ and ‘Cancel’
buttons as seen with the section and subsection label editors. Click on the
‘Save’ button to save the changes you’ve made, or click
on the ‘Cancel’ button to discard any changes.
At any time, you can see your changes without all of the confusing editor
sections by unchecking the ‘Show editing inputs’ checkbox.
This will remove all of the textboxes and buttons, leaving just the page
elements themselves. You can then click on the ‘Show editing
inputs’ checkbox again to resume editing, if desired.
At this point, no restrictions are in place to prevent anyone who has
permission to edit a page from changing what anyone else has already
entered. However, when each change is saved, a record of the change and
who made it is stored. Even when a change is deleted, the record of the
change remains, as does a record of the deletion and who deleted it.
The lead mentors can review this record at any
time. Anyone found to be abusing her or his editing privileges can have
them revoked, either for a particular page or for the entire site.